Stitches album cover
Lizzie Flynn
Producer: Elizabeth K. Flynn
Number of discs: 1

Lizzie’s debut CD received a number of accolades. The title track was chosen as the opening song on a CD compilation called ‘Our Backyard’, sent to every community radio station in Australia. ‘Declarations’ placed 1st in Queensland and 3rd in Australia in the Coffee House category of the Australian Songwriting Association Awards, and Lizzie shared songs from Stitches in an extensive East Coast tour.

  1.  Happy
  2.  When Everything is Changing
  3.  Freedom
  4.  Nobody Says Bad Things on a Postcard
  5.  Declarations
  6.  Stitches
  7.  Beauty
  8. Convince Me
  9.  Early Hours
  10.  A Year Past The End

REVIEW: One Album A Day

A genuine peril and dilemma when you see a reasonable amount of live music is when you get the “you’ve gotta see my friend play” call, especially if it’s a CD launch and you could get lumped with a pity purchase that’ll pollute your collection for years to come.

Ms. Flynn entered my life in just such a fashion, being a good buddy of a mutual Melbourne friend. Said friend has a very strong preference for acoustic female singer-songwriters, and I certainly haven’t adored all of them.

But here she’d backed a winner.  Liz has a powerful, pure voice that she utilises in an understated manner (i.e. now Idol-esque gymnastics).  She pens tunes that a personal and emotive, but with sufficient light and twists to not feel overwrought.

The cherry on top is that it isn’t just strummed guitar underneath, but, rather, some nice rhythms on bass and drums, and some tinkly accoutrements.

This particular collection is chock full of quality tracks (Happy, Beauty and Stitches are my current faves). It is a sad indictment on radio etc that Liz hasn’t had anywhere near the impact of similar locals like The Waifs and Lisa Mitchell.

File under: Put the needle on the record (well, it’s actually a CD, but the pun stands).